Book Review: The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman & Chris Ridell

The minute I heard two of my favorites were coming together for a book, I knew my bank balance was going to take a serious beating. I have loved Neil Gaiman since Coraline and I have loved Chris Riddell since Ottoline (ooooh that rhymed). But I didn’t imagine it to be this good.

Let’s start with the cover. Own the book just for it. The gorgeous gold, black and pencil strokes deserves a place in your library. Honestly, I just expected the same old sleeping beauty fairy tale with pencil-wielding Riddell splashing around his magic. But the plot line is nothing like it. Gaiman has done the impossible (well not really impossible but the difficult).He took an age old fairy tale and changed everything you know about it. I am not sure if this is the right word to use but I am going to anyway – Gaiman is a genius Fabricator.

sleeper-1

Suit up girls! This one is for us. Who needs a prince to kiss the princess awake? Why not give the job to the queen for once. In Neil Gaiman’s version, a queen, on the eve of her wedding, sets out with three dwarves to wake up the sleeping princess and save her Kingdom from the witch. I am not giving you anymore because at the turn of every page you will be spellbound and I don’t want to take that away from you.

sleeper-2

The Sleeper and the Spindle is not for ones who live within the borders of what has been told and taught to them. Open your mind and read this magical fairy tale from a different angle.

Readers: Don’t think twice

Parents: Not sure if you want this for your kids. Read it and decide.

Leave a Reply

